Student’s Council Back

The Student’s Council is the backbone of all the activities conducted in the college round the year. It represents the interests of all the students at the highest policy making level in the college. After receiving the new guidelines from the University regarding formulation of Student’s Council by elections the formal schedule was declared and elections were conducted as per the schedule.

The Class Representatives nominated by the Principal unanimously elected Mr. Nilkanth Sawant of T.Y.B.M.S. as the General Secretary of the college for the year 2017-18. The first programme independently handled by them was the Annual Prize Distribution held on Wednesday, 14th March, 2018. The second function was the farewell function of all T.Y. classes of B.A./ B.Com/ B.B.I./ B.M.S./ B.Sc. (I.T.) which was held on Monday, 19th March, 2018. The Degree Distribution Ceremony of the fresh graduates of all streams was held on Saturday, 31st March, 2018.

The Student’s Council got an opportunity to display their qualities of leadership, coordination, hard work, perseverance and organizing skills and it’s a first step in the direction of handling all the activities independently at their level next year onwards.

The Student’s Council, of which the Principal is the ex-officio President, is managed by its Chairman who is nominated by the Principal. The Chairman of the Associations and the General Secretary and members are selected from the students. They guide and supervise activities conducted in the college. The Council conducts such activities as would develop among the students a spirit of learning artistic appreciation and foster in them a sense of unity and discipline and make them responsible citizens.

The Council plays a very vibrant role in assisting activities such as Annual Day, Prize Distribution Ceremony, Cultural Activities, Fun Fair, Sports Day, Study Tour and Annual Convocation. The Council is also in the fore front in organizing the Blood Donation Camp. Various competitions are also arranged for the teaching and non-teaching staff.